Institute: ONC | Component: 1 | Unit: 4 | Lecture: c | Slide: 9
Institute:Office of National Coordinator (ONC) Workforce Training Curriculum
Component:Introduction to Health Care and Public Health in the U.S.
Unit:Financing Health Care - Part 1
Lecture:Types of Health Care Systems
Slide content:Five Single-Payor Systems in the United Kingdom The U.K. Department of Health: Funds the National Health Service (NHS) Ten regional health authorities Primary Care Trusts ( PCTs ) Salary Fee-for-service Capitation 9
Slide notes:The single-payor system of the United Kingdoms Department of Health funds the National Health Service, or NHS, in five regions of the country: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and the Isle of Man. The health plan in England is called the NHS. The health plan in Northern Ireland is called the NHS Northern Ireland, the health plan in Scotland is called the NHS Scotland, and so on. Ten regional health authorities run the NHS and distribute funds through primary care trusts, or PCTs . Primary care trusts maintain contracts with health care providers and hospitals in each NHS region. Health care providers and hospitals are paid through the primary care trusts. The primary care trusts pay health care providers in a variety of ways. Some providers receive a salary and some receive a fee-for-service. Some are paid through capitation, which means they are paid a fixed fee for each patient in their practice. Health IT Workforce Curriculum Version 4.0 9